Free Book Online
Categories
The Great Mortality: An Intimate History of the Black Death, the Most Devastating Plague of All Time

Pdf

The Great Mortality: An Intimate History of the Black Death, the Most Devastating Plague of All Time

4.2 (1952)

Log in to rate this item

    Available in PDF Format | The Great Mortality: An Intimate History of the Black Death, the Most Devastating Plague of All Time.pdf | English
    John Kelly B.A.(Author)

La moria grandissima began its terrible journey across the European and Asian continents in 1347, leaving unimaginable devastation in its wake. Five years later, twenty-five million people were dead, felled by the scourge that would come to be called the Black Death. The Great Mortality is the extraordinary epic account of the worst natural disaster in European history -- a drama of courage, cowardice, misery, madness, and sacrifice that brilliantly illuminates humankind's darkest days when an old world ended and a new world was born.

"A compelling and eminently readable portrait." -- Library Journal"A compelling and bone-chilling account." -- Tampa Tribune"A compellingly vivid account." -- The Guardian."..accessible and engrossing..." -- Publishers Weekly."..splendidly written..." -- Philadelphia Inquirer"Rich and evocative.written in the tradition of Barbara Tuchman, I couldn't stop reading this work of brilliance and wisdom." -- Richard Preston, author of The Hot ZoneA compellingly vivid account. --The Guardian...splendidly written... --Philadelphia Inquirer"John Kelly gives the reader a ferocious, pictorial account of the horrific ravages of [The Black Death]."--Michiko Kakutani, New York Times"Powerful, rich, moving, humane, and full of important lessons for an age when weapons of mass destruction are loose."--Richard Rhodes, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Making of the Atomic Bomb and John James Audubon: The Making of an American"This sweeping, viscerally exciting book contributes to a literature of perpetual fascination."--Booklist (starred review)"Written with a keen eye for the details of the past, it might also be a warning about our future."--Jack Weatherford, DeWitt Wallace Professor of Anthropology at Macalester College and author of Genghis Khan and the Making of the Modern World"Rich and evocative...written in the tradition of Barbara Tuchman, I couldn't stop reading this work of brilliance and wisdom."--Richard Preston, author of The Hot Zone"Stunning. The Great Mortality [is endowed with] the sheer immediacy ancient history yields to only a few."--Houston Chronicle"A fascinating account of the plague. A frightening reminder of what could happen today."--Nelson DeMille, The Birmingham News"THE GREAT MORTALITY skillfully draws on eyewitness accounts to construct a journal of the plague years."--New York Times Book Review"A compelling and bone-chilling account."--Tampa Tribune"Splendidly written. Kelly has written a popular history based on the best scholarship available, and written it very well indeed."--Detroit Free Press (**** 4 out of 4 stars)"THE GREAT MORTALITY is a chilling account of a global siege, public pits, death-carts, silent villages and empty streets."--Charleston Post & Courier"A compelling and eminently readable portrait."--Library Journal."..accessible and engrossing..."--Publishers Weekly"A ground-level illustration of how the plague ravaged Europe...putting a vivid, human face on an unimaginable nightmare."--Kirkus Reviews."..splendidly written..."--Philadelphia Inquirer"A compellingly vivid account."--The Guardian..".splendidly written..."--Philadelphia Inquirer..".accessible and engrossing..."--Publishers WeeklyJohn Kelly gives the reader a ferocious, pictorial account of the horrific ravages of [The Black Death]. --Michiko Kakutani, New York Times"Splendidly written. Kelly has written a popular history based on the best scholarship available, and written it very well indeed. --Detroit Free Press (**** 4 out of 4 stars)"A fascinating account of the plague. A frightening reminder of what could happen today. --Nelson DeMille, The Birmingham News"Stunning. The Great Mortality [is endowed with] the sheer immediacy ancient history yields to only a few. --Houston Chronicle"A compelling and bone-chilling account. --Tampa Tribune"...splendidly written... --Philadelphia Inquirer"This sweeping, viscerally exciting book contributes to a literature of perpetual fascination. --Booklist (starred review)"A ground-level illustration of how the plague ravaged Europe putting a vivid, human face on an unimaginable nightmare. --Kirkus Reviews"...accessible and engrossing... --Publishers Weekly"A compellingly vivid account. --The Guardian"THE GREAT MORTALITY skillfully draws on eyewitness accounts to construct a journal of the plague years. --New York Times Book Review"THE GREAT MORTALITY is a chilling account of a global siege, public pits, death-carts, silent villages and empty streets. --Charleston Post & Courier"A compelling and eminently readable portrait. --Library Journal"Powerful, rich, moving, humane, and full of important lessons for an age when weapons of mass destruction are loose. --Richard Rhodes, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Making of the Atomic Bomb and John James Audubon: The Making of an American"Written with a keen eye for the details of the past, it might also be a warning about our future. --Jack Weatherford, DeWitt Wallace Professor of Anthropology at Macalester College and author of Genghis Khan and the Making of the Modern World"Rich and evocative written in the tradition of Barbara Tuchman, I couldn t stop reading this work of brilliance and wisdom. --Richard Preston, author of The Hot Zone"

3.2 (12245)
  • Pdf

*An electronic version of a printed book that can be read on a computer or handheld device designed specifically for this purpose.

Formats for this Ebook

PDF
Required Software Any PDF Reader, Apple Preview
Supported Devices Windows PC/PocketPC, Mac OS, Linux OS, Apple iPhone/iPod Touch.
# of Devices Unlimited
Flowing Text / Pages Pages
Printable? Yes

Book details

  • PDF | 364 pages
  • John Kelly B.A.(Author)
  • Harper Perennial; Reprint edition (Feb. 2006)
  • English
  • 9
  • Health, Family & Lifestyle
Read online or download a free book: The Great Mortality: An Intimate History of the Black Death, the Most Devastating Plague of All Time

Review Text

  • By ANDREW R MIGGIANO on 5 February 2014

    this is a really interesting book. It tells you so much about the horrors of the time and how we managed to get through it. Many thanks to the seller too who is very good

  • By Zach on 31 March 2008

    With roughly 340 pages and fourteen chapters (including Introduction and Afterword), "The Great Mortality" is an informative and an interesting read on the historical study of The Black Death, an infamous disaster of the fourteenth century. In this work, John Kelly brought about the graphic details and accounts about the plague in vary of cities during the period of 1347 to 1351. The author did a great deal of research into secondary sources to bring together this work on the impact of the Black Death.On the other hand, the author's writing style and organization of the book is a bit off. While it is an informative read, I found it a bit difficult to follow what the author is saying as most of it a bit repeating. It does not exactly flow, in my opinion, and I had to put it down a few times.Personally, I think it is a good informative book for the lay person to understand the impact of the worst plague of medieval era, with millions dead within a few years. As for those of us who are knowledgeable on the subject, I found it to be a bit repetitive and it needed more sources, especially primary documents.

  • Name:
    The message text:

    Other Ebook

    Miscellanea